101 commercial energy assessors listed across the UK
Featured (paid) listings first, then A–Z · How we check listings
National providers (29)
AR
Based in Skelmersdale, Lancashire · Covers UK and Ireland
Accreditation stated by provider: Sterling
Own websiteUK-wide
CE
Based in Wellesbourne, Warwickshire · Covers Whole of the UK
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
CE
Based in Finchley, London · Covers All of London, and elsewhere in the UK
Accreditation stated by provider: Quidos, Stroma
Own websiteUK-wide
EE
Based in Brighton, East Sussex · Covers Nationwide, with local landing pages for many UK towns including Leicester, Nuneaton and Coventry
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
EE
Based in Belfast, Northern Ireland · Covers Ireland and the UK
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
EC
Based in Manchester, Greater Manchester · Covers Manchester, the North West and nationwide
Accreditation stated by provider: CIBSE, BPEC, iATS, SITMA, BREEAM, AECB, Constructionline
Own websiteUK-wide
EN
Based in Rochdale, Greater Manchester · Covers Greater Manchester and East Lancashire locally; SAP work nationwide
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy, Stroma, ABBE, BRE, TrustMark
Own websiteUK-wide
E
Based in Coniston, Cumbria · Covers Cumbria, the Lake District and the North West; also nationwide
Accreditation stated by provider: Stroma
Own websiteUK-wide
ES
Based in Belfast, Northern Ireland · Covers UK-wide (remote delivery available)
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
EE
Based in Coventry, West Midlands · Covers Coventry, Nuneaton, Rugby, Warwick and nationwide
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
EN
Based in Heywood, Greater Manchester · Covers Nationwide
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
EC
Based in Oxford · Covers UK residential and commercial developments
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
FF
Based in Leeds, West Yorkshire · Covers Nationwide (UK)
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
GZ
Based in Newcastle upon Tyne · Covers Whole of the UK and Ireland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
IC
Based in Pudsey, Leeds · Covers England, Wales and Scotland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
JM
Based in Edinburgh · Covers All regions, from Edinburgh, Newcastle and London offices
Accreditation stated by provider: CIBSE LCEA
Own websiteUK-wide
KT
Based in London · Covers England, Scotland and Wales
Accreditation stated by provider: CIBSE LCEA
Own websiteUK-wide
KE
Based in Ruddington, Nottingham · Covers East Midlands and nationwide
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
LC
Based in Bloomsbury, London · Covers London and nationwide
Accreditation stated by provider: RICS, CIBSE
Own websiteUK-wide
ME
Based in Cheadle, Greater Manchester · Covers EPC visits within about 50 miles of Manchester; SAP and new-build work nationwide
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
MS
Based in Faringdon, Oxfordshire · Covers Nationwide
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
MB
Based in Newark, Nottinghamshire · Covers Throughout the UK (offices in Newark, London and Birmingham)
Accreditation stated by provider: ATTMA, Elmhurst, AECB, TrustMark
Own websiteUK-wide
ME
Based in Coventry · Covers Coventry and the Midlands, plus UK-wide
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
NE
Based in Edinburgh · Covers Across the UK
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
NA
Based in Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands · Covers The Midlands and most areas of the UK
Accreditation stated by provider: Stroma, Sterling
Own websiteUK-wide
PE
Based in UK (several offices) · Covers Nationwide
Accreditation stated by provider: ATTMA, UKAS
Own websiteUK-wide
SG
Based in Birmingham · Covers Nationwide (UK)
Accreditation stated by provider: CIBSE Low Carbon Consultant
Own websiteUK-wide
EM
Based in Brighton, East Sussex · Covers Nationwide, with local landing pages for many UK towns including Coventry, Nuneaton and Durham
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
VD
Based in Burnham, Slough · Covers Whole of the UK
Accreditation not yet checked
Own websiteUK-wide
AE
Based in West Midlands / East Midlands (exact base town not stated on site) · Covers Coventry, Derby, Nottingham, Leicester, Bedford, Peterborough, Cambridge, Newark, Grantham and Grimsby
Accreditation stated by provider: Stroma
Own website
AT
Based in Serving all Northern Ireland (town not stated) · Covers Northern Ireland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
AS
Based in Exeter and Bodmin · Covers Cornwall and the South West
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
A
Based in Ballymena, Northern Ireland · Covers Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland
Accreditation stated by provider: UKAS
Own website
AE
Based in London · Covers All London boroughs and the Home Counties
Accreditation stated by provider: ECMK, Elmhurst, Quidos
Own website
BE
Based in Brighton · Covers All BN postcodes
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
CE
Based in Wrexham, Wales · Covers North Wales and Cheshire
Accreditation stated by provider: Green Deal Assessor
Own website
CC
Based in Brighton · Covers Sussex, Surrey, Kent and into London
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst
Own website
CE
Based in Thames Ditton, Surrey · Covers Surrey and London within the M25
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
CE
Based in Warrington, Cheshire · Covers Warrington and the whole of the North West
Accreditation stated by provider: ABBE, Stroma
Own website
CE
Based in West Cornwall · Covers Mid and West Cornwall
Accreditation stated by provider: Level 3 Domestic Energy Assessor, Level 4 Non-Domestic Energy Assessor
Own website
CP
Based in Coventry · Covers Coventry and surrounding area
Accreditation stated by provider: RICS, Elmhurst Energy, RPSA
Own website
DE
Based in Callington, Cornwall · Covers Devon, Cornwall and the South West
Accreditation stated by provider: ATTMA, Elmhurst, TrustMark, ECMK
Own website
DA
Based in Liverpool, Merseyside · Covers Domestic EPCs in Merseyside; commercial EPCs across the North West
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
D&
Based in Dartmouth, Devon · Covers Devon and Cornwall
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EP
Based in Summertown, Oxford · Covers Oxfordshire and surrounding area
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
ES
Based in Belfast, Northern Ireland · Covers Northern Ireland
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy, RICS
Own website
E
Based in Serving all Northern Ireland (town not stated) · Covers Northern Ireland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EG
Based in Birkenhead, Merseyside · Coverage not stated, so check with the provider
Accreditation stated by provider: PAS 2035, accredited Domestic Energy Assessors
Own website
EE
Based in North Wales · Covers North West England and North Wales
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy
Own website
EP
Based in Preston area, Lancashire · Covers North West
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EE
Based in Belfast, Northern Ireland · Covers Greater Belfast and surrounding areas
Accreditation stated by provider: ECMK, ABBE, Elmhurst, Quidos
Own website
E
Based in Stockton-on-Tees · Covers Stockton, Middlesbrough, Darlington, Durham and Sunderland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EA
Based in Woking · Covers Surrey, Hampshire, London, Kent
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EA
Based in Wigan, Greater Manchester · Covers Wigan and Lancashire
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EC
Based in Glasgow, Scotland · Covers Whole of Scotland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EE
Based in Hadleigh, Ipswich, Suffolk · Covers Suffolk, North Essex and East Anglia
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EC
Based in Croydon, London · Covers London
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst
Own website
ED
Based in Grangemouth, Falkirk · Covers Glasgow, Edinburgh, Falkirk, Stirling and Central Scotland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EE
Based in Edinburgh, Scotland · Covers Edinburgh and the Lothians
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EN
Based in Skelmersdale, Lancashire · Covers About 25 miles around Skelmersdale: Merseyside, Lancashire, Greater Manchester and north Cheshire
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
EP
Based in North London · Covers North and North West London, Enfield, Harrow and parts of Hertfordshire
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst
Own website
ES
Based in York · Covers York, Wetherby, Selby and Tadcaster
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
ES
Based in Near Maidstone, Kent · Covers Kent, Sussex, Surrey, south-east London, south Essex
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy, Stroma
Own website
ES
Based in Pinner, London · Covers Within the M25 and the Home Counties
Accreditation stated by provider: ECMK, Elmhurst
Own website
E
Based in Belfast, Northern Ireland · Covers Northern Ireland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
E
Based in Belfast, Northern Ireland · Covers Northern Ireland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
FS
Based in Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire · Covers South and West Wales, and parts of South West England
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy
Own website
GP
Based in Upminster, London · Covers London and Essex
Accreditation stated by provider: iATS, Elmhurst, Stroma, ECMK, TrustMark
Own website
GE
Based in Nuneaton, Warwickshire · Covers Nuneaton and Warwickshire
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
GE
Based in Rawdon, Leeds · Covers Leeds and the surrounding West Yorkshire area
Accreditation stated by provider: TrustMark, MCS, HIES, Elmhurst Energy
Own website
HE
Based in Holborn, London · Covers All London postcodes within the M25
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst
Own website
H
Based in Soho, London · Covers London
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst, RICS
Own website
HE
Based in Bungay, Suffolk · Covers Norfolk and Suffolk border
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
JB
Based in Carlisle, Cumbria · Covers Commercial properties throughout Cumbria (CA postcodes)
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy
Own website
JS
Based in Stockport, Greater Manchester · Covers Stockport, Manchester, Bolton, Bury, Salford, Trafford, Tameside, Cheshire East towns and High Peak
Accreditation stated by provider: RICS
Own website
K
Based in Wolverhampton, West Midlands · Covers Wolverhampton through to Derby, Nottingham and Leicester
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst, Quidos, ECMK
Own website
KS
Based in London · Covers South East, East and central London, and parts of Kent
Accreditation stated by provider: Quidos, Elmhurst
Own website
L
Based in South East London · Covers South East, South West and North London, Westminster and Bromley
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst, TrustMark
Own website
LE
Based in Rugby, Warwickshire · Covers Rugby
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
LE
Based in London · Covers London and surrounding areas
Accreditation stated by provider: Quidos, CIBSE
Own website
ME
Based in Tadworth, Surrey · Covers London, Surrey, West Sussex and Kent
Accreditation stated by provider: TrustMark, Elmhurst
Own website
NE
Based in Tamworth, Staffordshire · Covers Coventry, Nuneaton, Bedworth, Walsall, Birmingham, Lutterworth and surrounding Midlands towns
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
NE
Based in Cookstown, Northern Ireland · Covers Northern Ireland
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
NW
Based in Deganwy, North Wales · Covers North Wales coast, Conwy, Gwynedd, Anglesey and Denbighshire
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy
Own website
NW
Based in Warrington, Cheshire · Covers Domestic within about 15 miles of Warrington; commercial across the North West and Greater Manchester
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy, ECMK, ABBE
Own website
PE
Based in Kent and East Sussex · Covers Ashford, Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone, Maidstone, Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells and wider Kent/East Sussex
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
RR
Based in Bedford · Covers Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire, Hertfordshire and Leicestershire
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy
Own website
RE
Based in Denmead, Hampshire · Covers Portsmouth and Hampshire, plus wider clients
Accreditation stated by provider: AECB, Elmhurst Energy
Own website
SE
Based in Dundee, Scotland · Covers Dundee, Angus, Fife and Perth & Kinross
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
S
Based in East London · Covers East London, wider London and Essex
Accreditation stated by provider: Stroma
Own website
SC
Based in Knowle, Solihull · Covers Birmingham, Solihull, Coventry and the wider West Midlands
Accreditation stated by provider: RICS
Own website
SE
Based in Peacehaven, East Sussex · Covers Brighton for residential, wider South East for commercial
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy
Own website
SW
Based in South Wales · Covers Pembroke to Newport
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy
Own website
SE
Based in Nottinghamshire · Covers Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire and Leicestershire
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst
Own website
TV
Based in Reading, Berkshire · Covers Berkshire
Accreditation stated by provider: Elmhurst Energy
Own website
TE
Based in Southampton, Hampshire · Covers Hampshire, including Basingstoke, Guildford and Portsmouth
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
WE
Based in Scole, Diss, Norfolk · Covers East Anglia and the UK
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
WC
Based in Maryport, Cumbria · Covers West Cumbria incl. Workington, Whitehaven, Cockermouth, Keswick and Carlisle; says it covers most of England and Wales
Accreditation stated by provider: Quidos
Own website
WL
Based in Twickenham, London · Covers West London
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
WE
Based in Hull and Beverley · Covers East Yorkshire
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
YP
Based in Bradford · Covers West Yorkshire, including Leeds, Huddersfield, Wakefield, Halifax and Dewsbury
Accreditation not yet checked
Own website
When you need a commercial EPC
- Selling or letting. You must have ordered an EPC before the building is marketed, with the same 7-day and 21-day allowance as for homes.
- New buildings. A new non-domestic building needs an EPC on completion.
- It lasts 10 years. Buildings over 500 m² that the public visits often must also display their EPC.
- Exemptions include places of worship, temporary buildings, stand-alone buildings under 50 m², some low-energy industrial and agricultural buildings, and buildings due for demolition.
Which assessor level do you need?
- Level 3: simpler buildings with natural ventilation, such as small shops and offices.
- Level 4: larger buildings, or those with air conditioning or mechanical ventilation.
- Level 5: complex buildings, such as those with atriums or large areas of glazing, assessed with detailed computer modelling.
Minimum ratings for commercial lets
In England and Wales, a commercial building must have an EPC of at least E to be let, and this has applied to all leases since 1 April 2023 unless a valid exemption is registered. In June 2026 the government proposed raising the minimum to B from 2031 for buildings over 1,000 m², with smaller buildings staying at E. That still needs new legislation.
Marketing a building without an EPC can lead to a fine of 12.5% of its rateable value, between £500 and £5,000.
Display Energy Certificates
Public authority buildings over 250 m² that the public visits often need a Display Energy Certificate (DEC), which shows the building’s actual energy use. A DEC is separate from an EPC, and many commercial energy assessors can produce both.
In Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland
This guide describes the rules in England. Building regulations are devolved, so here is how commercial EPC works in the rest of the UK.
WalesThe rules are the same as in England, including the minimum rating of E for commercial lets.
ScotlandCommercial EPCs are lodged on the Scottish EPC Register. Buildings over 1,000 m² that are sold or let to a new tenant also need a Section 63 action plan from a registered adviser, and the improvements must be made within 42 months, or annual energy-use reports produced instead. New-style EPCs are due from 30 April 2028.
Northern IrelandA commercial EPC is needed when a building is built, sold or let, and it lasts 10 years. Northern Ireland uses the same government register as England and Wales. There is currently no minimum EPC rating for commercial lets.
Common questions
How much does a commercial EPC cost?
It depends on the size and complexity of the building and the assessor level needed. Assessors set their own prices, so compare quotes.
How do I know which level I need?
It depends mainly on the heating, cooling and ventilation systems. Describe the building when you ask for quotes and the assessor will confirm the level.
How long does a commercial EPC last?
Ten years, unless a newer EPC is produced for the building.
Is a DEC the same as an EPC?
No. An EPC rates the building’s potential performance, while a DEC shows its actual energy use and is needed for certain public buildings.
New to the jargon? See our glossary of terms, from air permeability to TrustMark.